Wednesday 24.04.2024 ΚΕΡΚΥΡΑ

New FODSA Administrative Board to be elected tomorrow

waste management
06 Feb 2024 / 10:53

CORFU. The three candidate consortia for the waste treatment plant in Corfu appealed to the Council of State against the decision of the Single Independent Authority for Public Contracts.

The new Administrative Board of the Special Regional Inter-municipal Ionian Islands Solid Waste Management Organisation (FODSA) will be elected tomorrow, Wednesday, by the shareholders of the Agency at the 1st regular General Assembly for 2024.

The General Assembly will take place at 11 a.m. in the conference room of the Ionian Islands Regional Council, in Alykes Potamos. The assembly has as its sole agenda item the election of the new seven-member Administrative Board, following the change in leadership of the Regional Authority. The invitation is signed by the outgoing President of FODSA and former Regional Governor, Rodi Kratsa, who is about to hand over the reins to the new President of the Organisation, Yiannis Trepeklis.


Which regional councillors were appointed

Meanwhile, already by decision of the new Regional Governor, two regional councillors were appointed as members of the Ionian Islands FODSA (based on a relevant circular of the Ministry of Environment and Energy), who, besides the Governor himself, will participate in the formation of the new Administrative Board. These are the Deputy Regional Governor of Small Islands and Intra-regional Transportation, Spyros Argyros, from the Governor's party, and Katerina Mothonaiou from Rodi Kratsa's party. Ms. Mothonaiou was a member of the outgoing Administrative Board as well.

It is expected that the mayors of the Ionian Islands or their representatives will be present at the general assembly. The Municipality of Central Corfu will be represented by the Deputy Mayor of Cleaning Services, Spyros Nerantzis. The person who will attend from the Municipality of South Corfu will be decided at the last minute, Mayor Vassilis Himariotis told Enimerosi.

The Municipality of North Corfu will participate with Mayor Giorgos Mahimaris and his deputy, Spyridoula Kokkali, while the Municipality of Paxos will be represented by Mayor Spyros Vlachopoulos.

The 11 Municipalities of the Ionian Islands Region participate in FODSA with a 60% share and the Regional Administration with a 40% share. The seven-member Administrative Board consists of the Regional Governor, two regional councillors, while the remaining four members come from the Regional Municipalities, based on quotas.

Appeal to Council of State regarding the Waste Treatment Plant

Among the initial issues that the new Administrative Board will be called upon to address is the matter concerning the waste treatment plant of Corfu, following the recent developments.

The Single Independent Authority for Public Contracts of the Independent Authority for Pre-judicial Appeals accepted the three pre-contractual appeals of the interested consortia companies, resulting in the tender for the selection of the contractor to construct the project being halted once again.

Already, the consortiums have appealed to the Council of State against the decision of the Independent Authority, with the fate of the tender now being judged by the Supreme Administrative Court.

The interested parties for the construction project of the Corfu waste treatment plant are as follows:




Following the new complication that has arisen, it is not ruled out, however, that the matter will be informally discussed at tomorrow's general assembly, in order to explore the possibilities available for the project that has been tendered for the third time, following the "failure" of the previous tenders.